The Three Languages in Which the New Testament Was Written in

The three languages in which the new testament was written in


The three languages in which the new testament was written in, Greek is the major language in the New Testament was written in. This seems odd because you might think it would be Hebrew or Aramaic. However, Greek was the language of science during the New Testament years from 50 to 100 AD. In fact, many Jews could no longer even read Hebrew, and this was a great embarrassment to the Jewish leaders! So, around 300 BC. The translation of the Old Testament from Hebrew to Greek was made around 200 BC. It also became a wonderful missionary tool for the early Christians, because the Greeks could now read God’s Word in their own language.

Also Read: Spiritual Meaning Of Forgiveness

Nevertheless, New Testament writers did not use classical or high-class Greek, but a very common and colloquial type of Greek. Over the years some scholars have ridiculed New Testament Greek because many of its words are foreign to those who read great classical Greek writings such as Plato. But many records of ordinary people were discovered later. Surprisingly, the same general terms are used in everyday language.

Also Read: The Languages The Bible Was Written In

The Greek language has gone through several periods of great change. The three languages in which the new testament was written in, The New Testament was written in the Koine Age. This is universal or pan-Greek time. Until AD 330, Koine was a common street language in Rome, Alexandria, Athens, and Jerusalem. When the Romans finally defeated the Greeks, Greek influence spread throughout the empire. Augustus, Emperor of Rome, wrote his seal in Greek. Paul sent his message in Greek, not Latin, when he wrote to the saints in Rome, the capital of the kingdom.


In Jesus’ time, Aramaic was widely spoken in this area. It was the language before the Babylonian captivity, as an administrative language under Assyrian rule.

In the New Testament, Aramaic expressions translated into Greek are in the following examples:

“Talitha qumi [Virgin, arise!” (Mark 5:41) and “Eloi, Eloi, lama sabachthani?” This translates into English as “My Lord, my God, why have you forsaken me? (Mark 15:34). There are several Aramaic words in the New Testament Epistles, such as Abba, found in the New Testament book of Galatians 4:6 and Maranatha found in the book of 1 Corinthians 16:22.


Though the New Testament was written in Greek, there are instances where some Hebrew words were used as loan words. Some of these words include Satan, Amen, Sabbath and Rabbi found in the books of Matthew 4:10, 1 Peter:11, Matthew 12:1, and Matthew 23:7 respectively.

Therefore, Hebrew is one of the original languages in which the New Testament section of the Bible was written.

Also Read: Number Of Books In The Bible


The three languages in which the new testament was written in, The same languages which were used to write the entire Bible were equally used to Write the New Testament section of the Bible. It is worth noting, however, that the major language used to write the New Testament was Greek with Aramaic and Hebrew only supplying a few words on loan – words such as the famous “Amen” from Hebrew and the phrase “Eloi, Eloi, lama sabachthani?” from Aramaic. Therefore, it is safe to say that the New Testament section was written in these aforementioned three languages.